User roles in the Cosmos Portal control what a user can do and what they have access to within the Cosmos product suite.
This article will discuss how to assign and change the roles for Cosmos users.
User roles are central to managing users in Cosmos because they control what each user can do. Details about each user role and what features are enabled for users are covered in the article here: Overview of User Roles.
Adjusting user roles is something that can only be done by users that have the Administrator role assigned to them.
To change user roles, you will first navigate to the Administration section on the left-hand side of the Cosmos Portal.
From there you will see a list of all users that have been added to the Cosmos Portal as well as which roles have been assigned to them.
Adding Roles for a User
You can add additional roles for a user by clicking in the User Roles section of the user's row. You can then check the box for any additional roles that you would like to add for the user.
Any changes that are made will be automatically saved and will take effect immediately. If the user is currently logged in to the Cosmos Portal, they will receive a notification letting them know that their user roles have changed.
Removing Roles for a User
To remove roles from a user, you can click the X on the right-hand side of the role to be removed. Once this is clicked the role will be removed for the user effective immediately.