Data Model Extensions control the various components that make up the Data Model that users utilize to build and run reports. This article covers how to manage these extensions by checking them in and out to make changes, save pending changes, and delete an extension.
When working with Data Model Extensions it is important to know how to manage them and what the various management functions do. For an overview of Data Model Extensions be sure to review the article here: Overview of Data Model Extensions
Checking Out Extensions
To change the contents of an extension the extension must first be checked out by a user. To check out an extension, click the Check Out button in the Actions section on the right-side of the extension list.
Once the extension is checked out, other users will be able to see who it has been checked out by in the Checked Out By column. The user can then make changes to the extension and then check it back in, save any changes that have been made without checking it back in yet, or delete the extension. Details of each operation are covered in more detail below.
A user can only have one extension checked out at a time.
Checking In Extensions
Once all the desired changes have been made by the user, the user can check the changes in by clicking the Check In button.
Checking in the extension will formally save all changes into the Cosmos platform. These changes will be published the next time the user clicks the Publish Pipeline button.
Saving Extension Changes
If the user has checked out an extension and made changes but wishes to come back later to finish making changes before checking the extension back in, the user can click the Save button. This will save all the changes that have been made without formally publishing the changes back to the Cosmos platform. The user can then log out and log back in later to continue making additional changes.
The user may determine that an extension is no longer needed, or the user may have created an extension simply to test something. If an extension is no longer needed it can be deleted by the user.
To delete an extension, the extension must first be checked out; the user can then click the Delete button to delete the extension. The user will be shown a confirmation window to make sure that they want to delete the extension.
It is important to note that once an extension has been deleted it is removed permanently and cannot be recovered. The user would need to re-import the extension from the Extension Gallery or manually recreate the extension if it were custom-made.