The Cosmos Workspace provides a simple, organized place for Report Editors to work on editing reports. The reports in their Workspace are checked out by them and these report versions are kept separate from other users until the report is checked-in.
This article covers what the Workspace is and how to effectively use it.
The Workspace is only available to users with the Report Editor role and will contain any new reports that they have created but not yet published or any published reports that they have checked-out for editing.
The Workspace is shown above the Reports section where published reports live. Users can edit reports to make changes to them in Excel Online, download the latest preview version of a report, or check-in a report once the user is finished making modifications.
Any report versions that are in the user's Workspace are not available to other users until the report has been checked-in. If other users run one of the reports that Report Editor has checked-out, the version that is run will be the last published version of the report, not the version that the Report Editor has checked-out and made modifications to.
If the user has checked out a report into their Workspace and determined that no changes need to be made, the user can delete the draft copy they have checked-out which will discard any changes and leave the original published report untouched.